Production rates

The English engineers have described their machine in great detail, so that it's possible to calculate its production. They write:

"For Chlorella-type organisms to grow, the principal requirements are: water, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, and light. As regards the water, the upper part of the Ancient of Days comprises a dew-still, a cooled surface which could extract sufficient water even from the dry air of the Sinai desert; carbon dioxide and nitrogen are available in the atmosphere, and could be made available to the culture by circulating it through the "beard-hairs" in contact with the air via a semi-permeable membrane; and as for the light, the Zohar makes endless mention of the "cardinal lamp" in the interior of the Ancient One. The other requirement, of course, is energy. Based on a realistic Israelite population of 600 "families" rather than 600 "thousands" - the Hebrew word "ALP" can mean either - we came up with a figure around 500 kilowatts, which is within the capacity of a small modern nuclear reactor. The light source could have been a neutron-pumped laser, and electricity for the control circuits generated thermoelectrically.
In addition to the thick beard-hairs, or circulation coils, there are also "thousands and thousands, myriads and myriads" of tangled black hairs - electrical wiring, for sure.

From drawings and models, like the ones from Fiebag's "Ewigkeitsmaschine" or on Peter Fiebags Homepage we can get the basic dimensions of the construction elements. These elements are:

The dimensions of the important parts are given in the table below for Dale/Sasson's original 5 m machine, and a 1.8m version according to Fiebag:


System "Mouth" "Hairs" "Brain" "Big Sea" "Armies"
5 m high 0,5 m2 12,5 m2 1 m 3000 l 2 x 1770 l
1.8 m 0,065 m2 1,6 m2 36 cm 131 l 2 x 82 l

These are the values I will use for my calculations on the next page.

Population and demand of calories

Dale/Sassoon claim that only 600 families had to be provided with food. Strange, the bible clearly says that "600000 men at foot without the children" had to be provided for. Dale/Sassoon say that is because of a translation error. The hebraic word for "on thousand" is the same as for "family" - a claim I could not verify. Dale/Sassoon give no source for this interpretation, and I talked with several persons knowing old hebraic disagreeing with it, so I am very doubtful. Also the description "600 families without the kids" makes no sense at all. Also, 600 families can not be called "people" by any means. They would not have been able to do the deeds listed in Moses 3. And the structure of Dale/Sassoons family contradicts everything we know of ancient family structures.

Even if there was something true about 600 families we should use a definition common today in Beduine societies. They have at least:

This are at least 10 persons per family, or 6000 persons with 600 families. This also is the minimal number of persons I would call "people".

The next problem with Dale/Sassoon's concept comes with their calculation of calorie consumption. They give for a man 2000 calories, but only 1600 calories for a woman and 900 calories for each child - so they come to an average calorie consumption of 1260 kCal/Person.
I looked into several calorie tables (like Time-Life, "Die richtige Ernährung") and they give even for "medium activities" like house work (and a trek through the desert is harder than that) for a 1.53 m male (man, youth or child is all the same) 2000 kCal, and for a female of the same size 1850 kCal. Even a 1.20 m child needs more than 1200 kCal per day.

If we do not assume that the Israelites were pygmies, and we take a male with 1.60 m, his wife with 1.56 m and the children with 1.20 m each, the average calorie consumption for Dale/Sassoons mini-families is ( 3 x 2200 + 3 x 2000 + 4 x 1200) / 10 = 1740 kCal! This would mean 10.44 Mio kCal per day for 6000 people (the normal family), and we can add about 30% if we assume that a trek through the desert counts as "hard work". Dale/Sassoon give 3.78 Mio. kCal per day, how do they get this value? Well, either they really think that the Israelites were pygmies (man 1.53 m, women and children are below the size of any table I have looked into, at least smaller than 1.40 m for the woman and smaller than 1.20 m for the children), or they give normal sized persons a starvation diet they would not survive 40 years, probably not even 40 days.

Even if we look at the downsized mini population of 3000 persons, with only 1200 grownups, the hunger diet of Dale/Sassoon does not work. If we use a "normal" calorie consumption of normal sized people, we need for this group at least 4.68 Mio. kCal per day, 1 Mio. kCal (about 25%) more than Dale/Sassoon tell their readers.

Algae and calorie value

A bio reactor is no perpetuum mobile which creates something out of nothing. What algae do is to convert water and carbon dioxide to produce sugar and oxygen from that. The following chemical reaction takes place:

6 H2O + 6 CO2 + energy = C6H12O6 + 6 O2

Further reactions also produce proteins and fat, but I will not discuss those reactions here. Since they use more energy per calorie, it even is an advantage for the calculation model.
Unfortunately, plants produce also sugars which cannot be used by our body, the so called poly saccharide like cellulose, from which the plants are made of. Algae like Chlorella and Spirella also produce large amounts of vitamins and protein. Spirella is therefore are called "wonder food". Even NASA is experimenting with them.

Spirella for example is produced on Hawaii in large basins. Dried "super"-algae consists to 72% of for the human body usable carbon hydrates and protein[ 1 ]. Sugar and protein have a calorie value of 4.1 and 4.2 kCal/g, the usable calorie value for those algae is a bit lower, around 3 kCal per gram, because parts of the last 28% consist of not usable or calorie less by products. Still it is three times more effective than other high protein foods like Soya. And this completely without unusable parts like leafs and stems plants have as "by products", and where only a small percentage of the whole plant is edible. In fact a food good for space exploration.

But Dale/Sassoon give 5.5 kCal/g for their algae! Since sugar and protein give only about 4 kCal/g each, the other 28% must deliver as much calories as fat, our most efficient energy source. That is impossible, because those algae are diet food - because of their lack of fat! with this inconvenient fact the manna machine starts to look bad...
There is fat in algae, spirella/chlorella substrates have about 7%, and not the necessary 28%. With this information we can calculate the calorie value backwards: 72 g protein and sugar, taken with 4.15 kCal/g as average, provide 298 kCal, 7 g fat 65,1 kCal, together 363,9 kCal for 100 g, a value well inside the interval of 330-370 kCal/100g I found on the internet. And far far away from the needed 5,5 kCal/g!

To see how much water, carbon dioxide and light the manna machine needs, we need a few more parameters.
From the chemical formula we can calculate the molecular weight of sugar:

Element Atom weight
Hydrogen (H) 1.008
Carbon (C) 12.011
Oxygen (O) 15.999

This is a molecular weight of 180 for sugar. To produce this we need 6 molecules of water, mol weight together 108, and 6 molecules of carbon dioxide, mol weight together 264. Or, to scale it to kilograms, we need for every kg raw bio mass 600 g of water and 1466.7 g of carbon dioxide.

The last point is the energy density. Photo synthesis needs energy in form of light. For each Mol of glucose 2286 Kcal or 9571 kilo-Joule (kJ) are needed, or 5262 kJ for each 100 g.

The production of proteins needs much more energy, so let's stick to the production of sugars to get a low estimate. Now we have enough data do make proper calculations.

Remarks:
[1] Planet Newsletter, Superfood Provision Co. Dec. 1996
Back: Bible and technologyForward: Yield of the machine
 
 
All pictures and texts © Frank Dörnenburg

Produktionsraten

Produktionsraten

Die beiden englischen Ingenieure haben ihre Maschine sehr detailliert beschrieben. Das gibt uns genug Informationen, um die Leistung abzuschätzen.

"For Chlorella-type organisms to grow, the principal requirements are: water, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, and light. As regards the water, the upper part of the Ancient of Days comprises a dew-still, a cooled surface which could extract sufficient water even from the dry air of the Sinai desert; carbon dioxide and nitrogen are available in the atmosphere, and could be made available to the culture by circulating it through the "beard-hairs" in contact with the air via a semi-permeable membrane; and as for the light, the Zohar makes endless mention of the "cardinal lamp" in the interior of the Ancient One. The other requirement, of course, is energy. Based on a realistic Israelite population of 600 "families" rather than 600 "thousands" - the Hebrew word "ALP" can mean either - we came up with a figure around 500 kilowatts, which is within the capacity of a small modern nuclear reactor. The light source could have been a neutron-pumped laser, and electricity for the control circuits generated thermoelectrically.
In addition to the thick beard-hairs, or circulation coils, there are also "thousands and thousands, myriads and myriads" of tangled black hairs - electrical wiring, for sure.

Zusammengefasst: Das Wasser stammt aus einer gekühlten Oberfläche der Maschine (ein Glasdom, in den die Luft gesaugt wird und in dem sich ein Kondensor, eine kalte gerippte Oberfläche befindet). Kohlendioxid und Stickstoff werden durch Austausch mit der Luft durch halbdurchlässige Membranen gewonnen, das Licht stammt von einem Laser, und die Energieversorgung stellt ein kleiner 500 KW-Reaktor zur Verfügung, der mit einem thermoelektrischem Generator betrieben wird.

Aus den Rekonstruktionszeichnungen und Modellen, wie sie zum Beispiel in Fiebags "Ewigkeitsmaschine" oder auf Peter Fiebags Homepage zu finden ist, kann man die Basisgrößen der Konstruktionselemente ermitteln. Diese sind:

Die maßgeblichen Dimensionen der einzelnen Elemente anhand der Zeichnungen gebe ich einmal für Dale/Sassoons Originalmaschine an, und einma für eine 1.8 m-Maschine nach Fiebag:


System "Mund" "Haare" "Hirn" "Großes Meer" "Heere"
5 m hoch 0,5 m2 12,5 m2 1 m 3000 l 2 x 1770 l
1.8 m 0,065 m2 1,6 m2 36 cm 131 l 2 x 82 l

Mit diesen Maßen werde ich auf der folgenden Seite rechnen.

Bevölkerungszahl und Kalorienbedarf

Dale/Sassoon gehen von 600 Familien aus, die vollständig mit Nahrung versorgt werden. Seltsam, spricht doch die Bibel zweifellos von "600.000 Mann zu Fuß ohne die Kinder". Die Begründung, daß das Wort für "Eintausend" im Hebräischen dasselbe bedeute wie "Familie" konnte ich nicht verifizieren. Leider geben Dale/Sassoon die Quelle dieser Interpretation nicht an, so daß bei mir erhebliche Zweifel bleiben. Die Formulierung "600 Familien ohne die Kinder" macht sogar extrem wenig Sinn. Zweifel kommen mir auch, da man 600 Familien, die von Dale/Sassoon mit "Mann, Frau, 3 Kinder" angegeben werden nicht gerade als "Volk" bezeichnen kann. Speziell, da man mit 600 wehrfähigen Männern kaum die Eroberungstaten, wie sie in 3. Mose beschrieben werden leisten kann! Zudem widerspricht die Struktur von Dale/Sassoons "Familie" allem was wir über antike Familienstrukturen wissen.

Man muss, wenn an der 600-Familien-Angabe etwas dran sein sollte, eine typische Großfamilie als Basis nehmen, wie sie noch heute bei Beduinen üblich ist. Sie zeichnet sich dadurch aus:

Alles andere wäre historischer Unsinn. Das macht insgesamt 10 Personen pro Familienverband, bei 600 Familien mach dies also 6000 Personen und wäre so die Untergrenze von dem was ich als "Volk" bezeichnen würde.

Beim Kalorienbedarf kommt die nächste Ungereimtheit von Dale/Sassoon: Sie sprechen dem Mann 2000, der Frau aber nur 1600 und den Kindern gar nur 900 kCal/Tag zu. Sie kommen daher auf einen gemittelten Kalorienbedarf von 1260 kCal/Person.
Normale Ernährungstabellen wie z.B. die von mir konsultierte (Time-Life, "Die richtige Ernährung") geben den Bedarf bei mittelschwerer körperlicher Tätigkeit (hauswirtschaftliche Tätigkeiten; Wüstentreck läge da wohl eindeutig drüber) bereits für 153 cm hohen männliche Personen (Junge, Jugendlicher oder junger Mann) mit 2000 kCal, für eine gleichgroße Frau mit 1850 kCal an. Und selbst ein 120 cm großes Kind benötigt hier schon weit über 1200 kCal/Tag.

Wenn wir den Erwachsenen keinen Pygmäenstatus verpassen wollen, und eine Körpergröße für den Mann von 1.60 Metern, für die Frau von 1.56 m für die Kinder von 1.20 Metern annehmen, läge der korrekte Pro-Kopf-Bedarf bei der absolute Untergrenze von ( 3 x 2200 + 3 x 2000 + 4 x 1200) / 10 = 1740 kCal! Bei 6000 Personen bedeutet dies einen Gesamtbedarf von 10.44 Mio kCal/Tag, und bei schwerer Arbeit, zu dem ich Wüstenwandern nunmal zähle, könnte man gut 30% draufschlagen. Dale/Sassoon kommen auf 3.78 Mio. kCal/Tag. Grund? Zum einen verpassen sie den armen Wüstenwanderern anscheinend wirklich Pygmäenstatur (Mann 1.53 m, Frau bereits gar nicht mehr in meiner Tabelle, also kleiner als 1.40 Meter, und Kind völlig undefiniert). Oder sie verpassen "normalgroßen" Menschen eine Hungerkur, die wohl kaum 40 Jahre durchhaltbar war.

Und auch wenn die Erfinder der Maschine das stolze Volk Israel auf gerade mal 3000 Leute, von denen nur 1200 Erwachsene waren, reduzieren wollen, kämen auch die mit der Dale/Sassoonschen Hungerkur nicht über die Runden. Rechnet man einen "normalen" Kalorienbedarf für "normal" proportionierte Menschen, brauchen selbst 3000 Mann/Frau/Kind mindestens 4.68 Mio. kCal/Tag, 1 Mio. kCal (rund 25%) mehr als angegeben.

Algen und Brennwert

Ein Bioreaktor ist kein Perpetuum Mobile, der Nahrung aus dem Nichts schafft. Was Algen machen ist, zwei Stoffe, Wasser und Kohlendioxid, zu nehmen und daraus Zucker und Sauerstoff zu erzeugen. Dabei läuft die bekannte Gleichung

6 H2O + 6 CO2 + Energie = C6H12O6 + 6 O2

ab. Durch Nebenreaktionen werden auch noch Fette und Proteine aus diesem Zucker gebildet, aber die lasse ich bei der späteren Energieabschätzung zum Vorteile der Manna-Maschine weg (sie führen nur zu höherem Energiebedarf bei der Gleichung, da der Brennwert niedriger bzw. die notwendige Energieaufnahme höher liegt).
Zucker ist aber nicht gleich Zucker, da Pflanzen nicht nur einfache, von uns verwertbare Saccharide wie Zucker und Stärke, sondern in großem Maße auch nicht verwertbare Polysaccharide (Zellulose) erzeugen. Algen wie Chlorella oder Spirella produzieren auch in erheblichem Umfang Proteine und Vitamine und sind als Nahrungsquelle eigentlich nicht schlecht. Die Spirella-Alge gilt unter Ernährungswissenschaftlern wegen ihrer ausgewogenen Vitamin- und Proteinkonzentration als "Wundernahrung" der Zukunft, und auch die NASA experimentiert mit ihnen.

Spirella wird z.B. in Hawaii in riesigen offenen Becken kommerziell angebaut. Getrocknete "Super"-Algen besteht in der Tat aus über 72% vom Menschen verwertbarer Proteine und Kohlehydrate[ 1 ]. Zucker hat einen Brennwert von 4.1 kCal/g, Eiweiß einen von 4.2 kCal/g, der verwertbare Algen-Brennwert hingegen ist durch die immer noch mitproduzierten nicht verwertbaren Stoffe etwas niedriger und liegt bei rund 3,2 kCal pro Gramm. Damit ist er fast dreimal höher als bei anderen hochproteinigen Nahrungssourcen wie Soja. Und das, ohne nicht verwertbare Biomasse wie bei Hülsenfrüchten zu produzieren - wo nur wenige Gramm pro Pflanze direkt nutzbar sind und der Rest kompostiert werden muss. In der Tat, für Raumfahrtprojekte höchst sinnvoll.

Aber Dale/Sassoon geben für ihre Algen aber einen Brennwert von sage und schreibe 5.5 kCal/g an! Da Zucker und Eiweiß je nur rund 4 kCal/g liefern, müßten die restlichen 28% Zusammensetzung (die eigentlich nicht verwertbar sind) rund 9 kCal/g liefern - soviel wie Fett, der energiereichste Kalorienlieferant. Dabei gelten Chlorella und Spirella bei den Lebensmittelforschern als Diät-Wundermittel!! Wegen ihrer Fettarmut!!! Alleine aus chemischen Gründen ist diese Angabe daher schlicht unmöglich! Damit hauen auch einige Berechnungen von Dale/Sassoon nicht hin...
In der Tat findet sich in getrockneten Algensubstraten auch Fett - 7% statt der benötigten 28%. Der kombinierte Brennwert lässt sich überschlagsweise zur Überprüfung nachrechnen: 72 g Protein und Zucker liefern 298 kCal, 7 g Fett 65,1 kCal, zusammen 363,9 kCal für 100 g Algen, ein Wert der gut in dem Intervall von 330-370 kCal/100g liegt, das ich im Internet gefunden habe. Und weit entfernt von Dale/Sassoons benötigten 5,5 kCal/g!

Um herauszufinden, wieviel Wasser, Kohlendioxid und Licht die Manna-Maschine benötigt, fehlen uns noch ein paar Angaben.
Aus der chemischen Formel kann man das Molekulargewicht von Zucker abschätzen:


Element Atomgewicht
Wasserstoff (H) 1.008
Kohlenstoff (C) 12.011
Sauerstoff (O) 15.999

Macht für Zucker also ein Molekulargewicht von 180. Um das zu erzeugen, braucht man 6 Wassermoleküle, Molgewicht zusammen 108, und 6 Kohlendioxids, Molgewicht zusammen 264. Oder, um es auf Kilogramm umzurechnen, pro kg Rohbiomasse müssen 600 g Wasser und 1466,7 g Kohlendioxid verarbeitet werden.

Letzter Punkt ist die Energiedichte. Photosynthese benötigt Energie in Form von Licht. Pro Mol (180 g) Glucose werden 2286 Kcal bzw. 9571 kilo-Joule (kJ) benötigt, pro 100 g also 5262 kJ.

Die Erzeugung von Proteinen benötigt viel mehr Energie, aber lassen wir es bei der Zuckererzeugung bewenden um eine untere Abschätzung zu liefern. Damit können wir die Funktionsfähigkeit der Manna-Maschine berechnen.

Anmerkungen:
[1] Planet Newsletter, Superfood Provision Co. Dec. 1996
Zurück: Bibel und TechnikWeiter: Ausbeute der Maschine
 
 
Alle Bilder und Texte © Frank Dörnenburg